The winners of the Isle of Wight Sports Achievement Awards 2023 have been revealed tonight (Thursday), at Medina Theatre in Newport.

Nominees gathered for a ceremony presented by journalists Romilly Weeks and the County Press's co-editor, Lucy Morgan.

UPDATE: Click here for photos!

The Junior Boys award, sponsored by The Royal Yacht Squadron, went to dedicated and competitive cyclist, Harrison Hendy. He finished first at the British Schools Cycling Association's National Hill Climb and is ranked 12th in the country and first regionally.  

The Junior Girls award, sponsored by BCM, was jointly won by Alice Critchison and Ellora Jones. Gymnast, Ellora, qualified for the south regional finals and finished 11th.  Horse rider Alice ranks third in the country for her age and has achieved incredible results in a host of competitions.

Legacy Elite Academy's Shannon Betts was named Toy Shop-sponsored coach or the year, achieving firsts for Isle of Wight gymnastics.

The winner of the Intermediate Boys award, sponsored by Esplanade, was Harvey Abbott, who won a GB kickboxing title, a place in Team GB, and bronze at the European Championships, in Turkey, where he took on the current world champion. 

The Intermediate Girls award, sponsored by Bembridge Harbour Authority, went to Matilda Moore, who plays netball for development teams and was also selected to play for Northern Ireland, in December. 

Club Official, sponsored by Harwoods of Yarmouth went to  David Beckingham, who has dedicated over 30 years to being a swimming judge.

Primary Sporting School, sponsored by The Garlic Farm, went to The Bay CE, which has entered many competitions and festivals, enjoying a good range of success, but crucially getting pupils to take part.

Secondary Sporting School, sponsored by Newport Grammar School Charity, went to St George's school, which caters for pupils with a wide range SEND. Its PE is very creatively led by Becky Mann.

The Island Games Outstanding Individual Achievement went to cyclist Kevin Chant - whose performance was certainly a ‘WOW’ moment, not just for TeamIOW, but for the whole Games.

The Island Games Outstanding Team Achievement went to the Island Games Shooting Team.  The 15-person team, comprising of 7 clay shooters and 8 target shooters, had an outstanding Games winning a total haul of 23 medals.

BCM Award for Senior Men went to Team GB kickboxer Dominic Marsh.

Supreme Champion at the Horse of the Year Show, Pip Smith, won the Glanvilles Damant Award for Senior Women.

The winner of The Rouse Club Volunteer award was Pauline Proud, who has represented Bowls Isle of Wight for over 40 years and held just about every title going, as well as competing to a very high level.

Swimmer Zac Lacey was the winner of the Disability Senior Men award, sponsored by Esplanade.

The Disability Senior Women’s, sponsored by Esplanade, went to triathlon star Laura Curwood.

The Making a Difference award, sponsored by Churchers Solicitors, went to Chair of the Isle of Wight Netball Association, Gemma Cowley, who has brought the Island netball community together.

The Masters Men award, sponsored by WightFibre, went to Daniel Eckersley. He's one of the most committed and consistent athletes on the Island and has won many gold and silver medals, excelling in 2023 on the International Masters platform.

The Masters Women award, sponsored by WightFibre, went to outstanding athlete Emily Fry, who is ranked 2nd in Long Jump, 3rd in both the 100 and 400 Metres Hurdles and 6th in the 200 metres, for her age group.

The Ray & Rosemary Scovell Trust Community Award went to basketball player, coach and support, Ian Broadsmith.

Junior Team award, sponsored by Spence Willard, went to Shanklin Sandown Rowing Club's: Layla, Ella, Immy, Izzy and Esme. 

Intermediate Team award, sponsored by My Liferaft, went to Shanklin & Sandown Rowing Club's J16 Double: Carter Horrix and Louis Sheasby.

An award for Outstanding Commitment went to Seaclose Swimming Club's Trevor Davies.

Senior Team Award, sponsored by Cowes Yacht Haven, went to both Ryde Marina Ladies and Shanklin Bowls Men's Team.

The winner of the Ford Search Partners Disability Team Award was Isle of Wight Cricket Board Disability Super 9s.

The winner of the Delphie Lakeman Trust Junior International Award was surfer, Boe Howell.

The winner of the Inshape Fitness International Award was international golfer Brandon Robinson Thompson, who is currently competing in India.

Lifetime Achievement Award went to Harry Kirby, 80,  who has a passion for hockey spanning five decades. He was described as a 'driving force who brings sunshine and joy to everyone he meets' and 'an 'energizer bunny' who exudes positivity and resilience.

The Service to Sport, sponsored by Love Running, went to rugby's Dave Ball. 

Keep your eyes peeled at for the full story with more photos soon.