RYDE C are now looking strong contenders to take the Isle of Wight Table Tennis League's Division 1 title from clubmates Ryde A, after their 10-0 drubbing of Newport Vics B. 

Ryde’s Paul Rainford, Ryan Cates and Graham Evans had a reasonably easy time of things, except against Newport’s Barry Joyce, who took Rainford to four sets and Evans to five.

Newport Vics A are having a hard season, and this week they lost heavily to Shanklin A, to slip to the foot of the table behind their B team. 

Newport’s Anna Joyce and Dave Hilliam managed a win each over Shanklin’s Don Hobbs, although Hilliam was unlucky to lose in five sets to Shanklin’s Mike Turner. 

Shanklin’s Mike Bulpitt was unbeaten and player of the match.

Meanwhile, in Division 2, Havenstreet Hooters leapt into second place behind Newport Vics C after their 9-1 win over Ryde Lizards, with Havenstreet’s Paul White player of the match.

Ryde Rocket’s Trevor Percival continued his fine form this season and was player of the match in his team’s 7-3 win over Ryde Revellers. 

The Reveller’s Gourav Shah is third in the averages table and Percival had to work hard to gain the win in their match in four sets. 

The Rocket’s Tim Wakeley and Manfred Gelhard gained a welcome victory in an epic doubles match against Shah and team mate Nicky Dando, which they won by 17 points to 15 in the final set.

In Division 3, Shorwell Saints took second place behind Newport Vics D, following their whitewash of Ryde Frogs, while Newport had an easy win over Ryde Rustics to extend their lead at the top of the table.

Division 1:
Ryde Goshawks 3, Ryde B 7; Ryde C 10, Newport Vics B 0; Newport Vics A 2, Shanklin A 8.
Division 2: Havenstreet Hooters 9, Ryde Lizards 1; Ryde Rockets 7, Ryde Revellers 3.
Division 3: Shorwell Saints 10, Ryde Frogs 0; Ryde Rustics 2, Newport Vics D 8.