RYDE'S teams made short work of their Newport rivals in Division 1 of the Isle of Wight Table Tennis League.

Newport Vics A suffered a 10-0 whitewash at the hands of the Ryde Reprobates, with player of the match Hugh Idle.

Only Barry Joyce and Rob Warren managed to chalk up victories for Newport Vics B in their 8-2 crushing by Ryde B.

But there was a much closer match between the two top teams in the division, Ryde C and Ryde A. 

The A team’s Scott Lawson, having lost just one match all season, was taken to five sets by the C team’s talented junior, Ryan Cates.

However, Lawson ultimately took the match 11-9 in the final set. 

With Cates winning his two other singles matches, and team-mate Paul Rainford doing likewise, the score went into a deciding doubles, with the A team holding the 5-4 advantage.

But Rainford and Cates comfortably beat Lawson and partner, Rob Smith, in three sets, to claim an excellent draw.

As a result, Ryde C are now slight favourites to take the title, although Ryde A, the current holders, and Ryde Reprobates, are close behind.

Meanwhile, in Division 2, the fixture list served up some interesting matches.

Ryde Revellers played exceptionally well to beat Ryde Lizards 9-1. 

The Reveller’s Nicky Dando and Gourav Shah won all three.

Havenstreet Hooters also enjoyed a big win over the Wootton Wanderers 8-2.

The league leaders, Newport Vics C, had a much closer match against second placed Ryde Rascals, with Lawrence Fo and Charlie Stapleley unbeaten for Newport, whilst the Rascal’s Stephen Gibbons won two, with Newport snatching it 6-4.

In Division 3, Shorwell's team had been giving the leaders Newport Vics D a run for their money recently, but it was the Newport Spinners on top this week with a doubles win in a 6-4 success.

Division 1:
Newport Vics A 0, Ryde Reprobates 10; Ryde C 5, Ryde A 5; Ryde B 8, Newport Vics 2.
Division 2: Ryde Lizards 1, Ryde Revellers 9; Havenstreet Hooters 8, Wootton Wanderers 2; Ryde Rockets 6, Ryde Allsorts 4; Newport Vics C 6, Ryde Rascals 4.
Division 3: Shorwell Spinners 4, Newport Vics D 6; Ryde Retailers 7, Ryde Frogs 3.