THE Prison Officers were not able to contain rampant Ryde after they amassed the biggest total on the opening night of the new Leslies Motors Isle of Wight Indoor League.

The first round of matches were played at Cowes Enterprise College on Sunday.

In Division 1, EPP got the first points on the board with a convincing win over Shanklin & Godshill 1.

Batting first, Shanklin & Godshill scored 124-1, with Steve Egerton-Read top scoring (25 not out). But Henry Edwards (26) and Ross Whyte (28) both hit not out scores to see EPP home.

Good undefeated knocks from Brading’s experienced trio of Alan Johns (26), Chris Higgins (29) and Rob Holdcroft (27), saw their side reach 131-1 against Northwood, who could only reply with 110-2 — Jordan Langdon their pick of the batsmen (26 not out).

Title holders Ryde hit the biggest score of the evening, 158 all out, against the Prison Officers, with Chris Earley and Gary Kimber bagging two scalps apiece.

Simon Wratten (29) and Liam Ringer (32) helped Ryde post a challenging total.

Earley (33 not out) put up stubborn resistance, but Mark Oatley’s 3-17 took Ryde to a comfortable 81-run win.

In Division 2, Ryde School hit 121-1 to beat Shanklin & Godshill 2 (119-5), thanks in the main to Fred Gurney (26 not out) and Ben Attrill (3-19).

Newport’s Paul Attrill hit an undefeated 26 to help his side reach 121-3 against Island Bakeries.

The Bakers, however, reached their total without loss in reply, with Ellis Ridett (26) and Matt Webb (27) doing the damage.

  • This Sunday’s fixtures, at the same venue — Division 1: EPP v Northwood (5pm); Brading v Prison Officers (6pm); Ryde v Shanklin & Godshill 1 (9pm); Division 2: Cowes v Ryde School (7pm); Shanklin & Godshill 2 v IWCB Disability Team (8pm).