Julian Linton’s Grand Prix multihull N.R.B. has take line honours at this year's Round The Island Race, finishing the course in 4 hours and 19 minutes.

The first monohull to cross the line was Ian Atkins’ GP42 Dark’n’Stormy, in a time of 4h54m.

Read more: Ryde sailor Jono Macbeth delighted to win top prize in Round the Island Race

The 91st edition of the Island Sailing Club’s competition started with a bang from the Royal Yacht Squadron’s starting cannons at 8am this morning (Saturday).

The official start was fired by the Marathon Watch company president, Mitchell Wein.

Isle of Wight County Press: By Martin Allen.By Martin Allen.

Over 1,100 boats are competing in the 50 nautical mile race around the Isle of Wight.

Dave Atkinson, Race Director said: "The race started under perfect race conditions with a south westerly 15 knot breeze.

"The Class 0 yachts headed down the Solent to the west and showed some close racing. It was a fantastic sight to watch the huge fleet of all types of boat, families and professionals, following at ten minute intervals."

James Harayda from the Gentoo Sailing Team said: “We’re really excited to be competing in this years Round the Island Race onboard our new IMOCA 60 ‘Gentoo’.

"It’ll be our first race on the IMOCA and an excellent test for sailing such a boat in a  relatively confined and busy environment.

"The Island Sailing Club’s Round the Island Race is one of my favourite events of the year, with a nice mix of competitive racing and a great social element too!"

Isle of Wight County Press: From isleofwight.com webcams earlier in the race.From isleofwight.com webcams earlier in the race.

Isle of Wight County Press: The fleet spotted off Ventnor.The fleet spotted off Ventnor.

For Islanders heading to watch the finish, the Island Sailing Club has partnered with Cowes Yacht Haven this year to stage the Race Village, open to competitors, supporters and visitors.

There are games, giveaways and live bands.    

Boats are expect to finish until 9pm tonight, with prizegiving due to be held at 11.30am tomorrow (Sunday, June 26).