Former Isle of Wight Council Leader Jonathan Bacon is back in County Hall, after winning Brading and St Helens.

Despite opposition from Labour’s Alexander Buggie, Liberal Democrat John Graney and the incumbent Conservative Brian Tyndall, he has secured a seat for Our Island.

Yesterday, voters cast their ballots in town and parish councils and for the Police and Crime Commissioner and the results of those will be known on Saturday and Monday, respectively.

Overall for the Isle of Wight Council election, turnout was slightly down on 2017, at just over 36 per cent.

Isle of Wight Council Leader, Conservative Dave Stewart, is among those to have lost his seat.

Today’s count has been for the reduced 39 seats at County Hall.