The nominations for election as the Hampshire and the Isle of Wight Police and Crime Commissioner have now closed.

Four candidates are standing for the position.

Police and Crime Commissioners are elected to make policing more accountable and give people a greater voice on police and crime matters.

The Police and Crime Commissioner for the Isle of Wight also covers Hampshire, watching over Hampshire Constabulary.

One of the duties of the commissioner is to set the police precept each year, from our council tax. The commissioner then determines how the funding is allocated.

The election of a new commissioner should have taken place last year but due to the unprecedented nature of Covid-19, the vote was pushed back a year.

The current commissioner, Michael Lane, is not running for re-election.

See who is standing here:

  • Tony Bunday (Labour)
  • Steve James-Bailey (Hampshire Independents)
  • Donna Jones (Conservative)
  • Richard Murphy (Liberal Democrats)

The election takes place on May 6, with polling stations open from 7am to 10pm.

Applications to vote via post are still being accepted, you can find more information here: