DON'T Drill the Wight (DDTW) has hailed MP Bob Seely and Arreton Parish Council's move to oppose proposed oil drilling on the Island.

In 17 days, more than 670 objections have been registered in opposition to UKOG plans to establish a drill site west of Arreton village.

There are nine days remaining of the public consultation, and with the figure continuing to rise, DDTW hopes it is likely to top 1,000 objections.

Among those to join DDTW in submitting formal objections to the proposed drilling is MP Bob Seely and Arreton Parish Council.

Mr Seely said the plans would have a negative impact on the environment, increase the Island’s carbon footprint and significantly increase traffic in the area.

Read more here.

A spokesperson for DDTW said: "Both Bob Seely and the Arreton Parish Council cited multiple reasons for refusal of the drilling proposal.

"It has been inspiring to see the passion and concern expressed for our Island's environment by local organisations, Islanders, regular visitors and tourists on the mainland.

"They recognise both the need to protect our Island's sustainable tourism and agricultural sectors of our local economy, as well as playing a part in tackling the wider global issues of climate change, habitat loss and threats to water supplies.

"To have these views backed by our MP and the local parish council sends a clear message to the fossil fuel industry that the time for new oil exploration is over.

"Further opposition statements from other political parties on the Island will be welcomed, since we are not party political.

"Most campaigned in the hustings against fossil fuel extraction and some have offered great support in our actions to oppose this application.

"The Isle of Wight has implemented renewable energy initiatives in recent years and can be champions of more in the future.

"This is our hope."

If you have questions or need further information or help with your consultation response, members of the campaign will be in St James Square, Newport tomorrow (Saturday) from 10am to 2pm.