PLAYER-manager John McKie was the hero leading from the front as Cowes Sports beat a good Bashley side in a seven-goal thriller at Westwood Park this afternoon (Saturday).

McKie scored twice as the Yachtsmen won 4-3, with Michael McEnery and captain, Gareth Bricknell adding the others.

It was just as well Cowes won, with bottom side Andover New Street also winning, but the Islanders moved up a place to third-bottom of the Sydenhams Wessex Premier table.

Isle of Wight County Press:

John McKie, far left, in blue, scores against Bashley in their vital Sydenhams Wessex Premier clash at Westwood Park this afternoon.

In Division 1 below them, Newport were beaten 4-2 away at top-of-the-table Amesbury Town, their second defeat to them in the space of a fortnight and four league losses on the bounce.

Lewis Wright scored both of Poirt's goals.

East Cowes Vics, who had enjoyed a seven-game unbeaten run, which had hoisted them to eighth in the table, were beaten 2-1 at Fawley Town.

In Division 1 of the Harwoods Renault Island League, Whitecroft and Barton Sports beat Sandown 3-1 at Sandy Lane to maintain their seven-point lead at the top of the table.

Isle of Wight County Press:

Action from this afternoon's Isle of Wight League Division 1 clash between Northwood St John (in yellow) and Brading Town at thew Recreation Ground, Park Road, Cowes.

In the battle between second-placed Northwood St John and Brading Town, in third, the Kyng's Town boys won 2-0 away to move up into second.

In Division 2, Bembridge won 4-0 at improving Wootton.

                                        TODAY'S RESULTS

Sydenhams Wessex Premier: Cowes Sports 4, Bashley 3.

Division 1: Amesbury Town 4, Newport 2; Fawley 2, East Cowes Vics 1.

Harwoods Renault Island League Division 1: ECS 6, Osborne Coburg 1; Northwood St John 0, Brading Town 2; Shanklin 1, Ventnor 0; West Wight 2, Binstead & COB 0; Whitecroft & Barton Sports 3, Sandown 1.

Division 2: Wootton 0, Bembridge 4; Carisbrooke United 4, Adgestone 3; East Cowes Vics A 1, Newchurch 2; Niton Community 3, Wroxall 2; Seaview 2, Oakfield 2.

Combination 1: Brading Town Reserves 2, Ryde Saints Reserves 1; Oakfield Reserves 7, Northwood St John Reserves 0; Osborne Coburg Reserves 0, Whitecroft & Barton Sports Reserves 3.